What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?

The EYFS is the stage of development from birth—5 years. Central to the EYFS is equality of opportunity, inclusion, respect for children as competent learners and as individuals, valuing their differing interests, abilities, family backgrounds and cultures.

Also important, is providing an environment that takes these into account and supports and extends children in their learning. Observation and assessment, and working in partnership with parents and carers helping to ensure children’s health and emotional well being are fostered, enabling each child to make the best possible progress. Alongside this, positive relationships are developed within the group between children, staff, adults and parents and carers and also other individuals involved with the child,including any outside agencies or other settings.

Development and Learning
There are 7 areas of learning within the EYFS (revised Sept 2014):

  1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development e.g. self confidence & awareness, making relationships and managing feelings and behaviour.

  2. Communication and Language Development e.g. listening & attention, speaking and understanding.

  3. Physical Development e.g. moving and handling, health & self care. 

  4. Mathematical Development e.g. number skills, shapes, space & measurement. 

  5. Literacy Development e.g. interest in early reading and writing skills.

  6. Understanding the World e.g. people and communities, the world around us and technology.

  7. Expressive Arts & Design Development e.g. exploring media & materials and being imaginative.


For each area the EYFS practice guidance sets out ‘Development Matters’ - the likely stages a child makes along their learning journey towards the Early Learning Goals (what is expected that children will know and be able to do by the end of the reception year at school).
We will provide you with more details on the EYFS principles and
‘development matters’ stages when your child starts at Horsley Preschool.

Contact Us

The best way to get in touch is by email:



You can also call during Playgroup hours(Monday-Wednesday 9-2.30) on: 07929 974982

Find Us

Horsley Village Hall,

Priory Fields,





“Children demonstrate that they thoroughly enjoy their learning and play experiences. They show

excellent levels of independence and confidence. This helps to prepare children well for the next stage in learning, such as school”.

©2016 by Rhian Evans with Horsley Playgroup